Grigory Sokolov

Sunday May 13 2018
20.15 pm – Main Hall – Royal Concertgebouw

this recital has already taken place


Franz Joseph Haydn Sonate (Divertimento) nr. 32 in g minor, Hob.XVI:44
Sonate (Divertimento) nr. 47 in b minor, Hob.XVI:32
Sonate nr. 49 in c-sharp minor, Hob.XVI:36
Franz Schubert 4 Impromptus, op. posth. 142, D 935
Franz Schubert Impromptu in A flat major, op. 90 no. 4, D 899
Jean-Philippe Rameau Le Rappel des Oiseaux
Franz Schubert Hungarian melody in b minor, D 817
Frédéric Chopin Prelude in D flat major, op. 28 no. 15
Alexander Skrjabin Prelude in e minor, op. 11 no. 4
Franz Schubert Allegretto in c minor, D 915

*this recital has already taken place


Prices from €49,00


Master of poetic freedom
Grigory Solokov is no doubt one of the most impressive living pianists. Since many years the Russian maestro is-and he is the only one-our guest in every series. This year is the twentieth time! Everything he touches changes into gold. If there is anyone who has a clear idea how music is to be performed, it is Grigory Solokov. He bends music to his wishes with so much conviction, that it becomes self-evident, and yet it has a new sound to it. Sokolov lives in his own world. He puts his own stamp on the music, without doing any injustice to the composer. He seems to live on an other planet, from where he has a much wider view than we-ordinary earthlings. His play is a search for the essence, the deeper layers. Under his hands every well-known piece become a discovery. Sokolov is superior, but lacks any arrogance; he exceeds everything, but more than anything else he wants to be a servant of the music.

read more

Upcoming concerts

cancelled due to COVID

Arcadi Volodos

Sunday June 7  2020

Evgeny Kissin

Sunday June 21 2020

Seong-Jin Cho

Saturday September 26 2020


Serie A

€ 525

12 recitals – 30% discount

Order serie A

Serie B

€ 305

6 recitals – 20% discount

Order serie B

Serie C

€ 305

6 recitals – 20% discount

Order serie C